top of page

Fourteen Eggs: Mission Ridge got 39 inches of snow!


It's a balmy four degrees this morning. My hens surprised me with fourteen eggs. I thought they had slowed down for the winter. I had been getting just one egg. Then a few, then four or five. This morning, I found fourteen eggs. Some of those are from the day before, but still. It's cold out there. I trek outside each morning to feed and water my ten chickens and two ducks, mumbling to myself about how I don't want to go out into the cold. Then I find this bounty. There is always something to be happy about, to be thankful for. We are also feeding the birds. We added bird seed to the hanging feeder and now we have a back yard full of cheerful songs and birds! I love that they are there, singing. And my Stellars Jays are so blue and beautiful. They have lived around here for years and some winters I hardly saw them. We also have a lot to be thankful for because Mission Ridge is just up the hill from my home, about seven minutes way. We love to take the dogs for hikes at Squilchuck State Park, and on the trail leading up to the lake. We are the perfect place to stay if you want to ski all weekend or for a day! Mission Ridge is expanding and is the perfect place for families, beginners and those more advanced. We love hanging out in the lodge, and tearing up the slopes.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Call us!  509-630-4381

bottom of page